Momma Mayhem

Social Filters Be Gone!!

New Year’s Reflections

on 12/31/2009

It’s New Year’s Eve. According to the Gregorian calendar, today we bid farewell to the old year and usher in the new. It is a time for reflection, hope, and realignment of one’s priorities. Some accomplish this with New Year’s Resolutions, others with spending time with those they love on this special night, set apart from time and space. Me? I write. I do other things as well, but on New Year’s, I always write.

First let me ask: where the hell did the first decade of the 21st century go? It seems like yesterday that the entire world was freaking out about the year 2000. Was the world going to end? Was God going to show up wielding a might flaming sword of justice? Was Y2K going to send our technologically-savvy society back to the Dark Ages?

Fortunately, none of these things came to pass. In the last ten years, we’ve become even more technologically advanced* than I ever thought possible. Now, theorists are claiming the world will end on the Winter Solstice of the year 2012. God, thankfully, has been left out of that prophesy, but where is She, when people are starving and fighting and dying?

Why are we, as a people, still so damned concerned about what everyone else is doing instead of paying attention to the collapse of our own lives? I am not a Catholic, but there is plenty of truth in the Bible that we would do well to take to heart, such as Matthew 7:5, “first cast out the beam out of thine own eye; and then shalt thou see clearly to cast out the mote out of thy brother’s eye.” Why do we insist on telling other people what they’re doing wrong without taking the time to look at our own mistakes?

I am not just spouting rhetoric. I truly believe that we, as a society, need to reflect on our own errors. Just as George Santayana said, “those who cannot learn from history are doomed to repeat it.” Do we really want a repeat of 9/11, Hurricane Katrina, and this economic nightmare that the Bush administration got us into? No? Then we better wake up and pay attention.

This past year, for me, has been, for the most part, amazing, but as with anything, there has been good and bad. I graduated college (finally!), although that hasn’t been much of a help in obtaining employment! My son graduated elementary school, and we’re exploring the world of middle school together, which is interesting, to say the least!! I have had to watch my friends and loved ones go through unspeakable pain, haunted by the knowledge that there is nothing I can do to help except be there. I have come full circle with my ex. He is still one of my closest friends, and I’m enjoying building a friendship with his girlfriend. (She and I are more alike than he would care to admit!)There has been a plethora of new life brought into this world, beginning with Baby Shotz in January, and it hasn’t ended yet! Lori’s Jellybean is due in May and my Blueberry will make her entrance in late June/early July.

Most of all, I have found love, a love that I never knew could exist. His pain is my pain and I still want to kick myself for all those wasted months when I was swimming a river in Egypt. He is my best friend, my soul mate, my confidant, my stability. There is nothing about me that he doesn’t know, and he loves every part of me, physically and spiritually. His love has healed me more than anything ever could, and I can’t WAIT to see what he’s like as a father. He’s going to make an AWESOME dad.

All in all, 2009 wasn’t so bad. My sincerest wish is that 2010 is just as good, if not better, and that all my loved ones prosper, both physically and emotionally.

*seriously, ten years ago, would YOU have thought of Facebook or a Droid back then? In 2000, I still had a beeper!


Leave a Reply

