Momma Mayhem

Social Filters Be Gone!!

Save the Drama for Your Mama

on 04/21/2010

I need to make one thing quite clear: I DON’T CARE WHAT YOU THINK. I have reached a point in my life where it doesn’t really matter to me what most people think of me. I value the opinions of very few people in this world, because I know them to be as brutally honest as I am, and to not pull punches with me if they think I’m screwing up. There are very few people in my life that can get away with this type of action because a) it doesn’t happen often and b) they usually help me see things from another perspective.

Having said that, I REFUSE to sit idly by while others judge and question my choices. If  you don’t like said choices, that is YOUR problem, not mine. I don’t presume to sit in judgment of anyone else in their choices. My motto is pretty much “live and let live”. If someone I love is TRULY being a danger to themselves or others, I will step in, but on a day-to-day basis, I prefer that my loved ones have minds of their own, and make their own decisions. This is because I KNOW I can’t control and/or fix everything and everybody. People need to make their own mistakes and learn or not learn from them, creating their own path through life. It’s about what’s right for THEM, not me.

If you know me at all, you know that I don’t make many decisions lightly. While I am, by no means, perfect, I tend to try to see things from every side, the Devil’s Advocate if you will. And if you know that little tidbit of information, you know that I don’t take well to having my choices questioned, by ANYONE. I think long and hard about the people in my life, and if I think you’re a danger to me, physically, emotionally or psychically, even after having been confronted by these truths, I will kick your butt to the curb faster than you can say, “HUH!?”

I put distance between myself and those I don’t want in my life, BUT I do NOT begrudge other friends and acquaintances their relationships with people I consider unhealthy for ME. I have NEVER asked anyone to choose between me and someone I don’t much like. If they’re as toxic as I believe them to be, my friends will eventually come to the same conclusion. If not, it’s THEIR life, not mine. I would never presume myself to be more important in someone’s life than someone else. I don’t like ultimatums given to me, and I don’t give them to others. If this is your deal, then you don’t belong in my life.

~*~END RANT~*~


Leave a Reply

