Momma Mayhem

Social Filters Be Gone!!

A Response to Robert A. Hall’s “I’m 74 and I’m tired”

on 02/01/2013

***author’s note: It was brought to my attention that the original post was written by former Massachusetts state senator Robert A. Hall, not Bill Cosby, so this has been edited for content. However, regardless of who actually wrote the original piece, my words still stand.***

“I’m 35 and I’m Fed Up”

So, Robert A. Hall is 74 and tired. Well, I’m 35 and I’m fed up. I’m sick and tired of people like Mr. Hall.

In his rant, he yammers on about putting in 50 hour weeks, not calling in sick in 40 years and having a ‘reasonable salary’. Well, I guess having a Senator’s salary could be called “reasonable”. Not in any world *I* live in, but maybe in his.

He argues against himself in the first two paragraphs. In his opening statement, he discusses the economy, and his possible mistake in retiring (because the very nice retirement package elected officials get isn’t enough for you). In the very next paragraph, he bitches about having to “spread the wealth” to people “too lazy to earn it”. Did it ever occur to you that they’re NOT too lazy, but are victims of the horrible economy? Or are you too busy crying and blowing your nose on all that cash?

And I hate to tell you this but any and every religion gets warped by extremists, not just Islam. Or did you forget the Spanish Inquisition and the Crusades? These are just two examples of how Christianity, which is most certainly a religion of peace (Jesus was the original hippie – peace and love, man), has succumbed to the need for POWER – not faith, not love, not peace – but POWER, especially through FEAR. Specifically, the Catholic Church, through its fear of women, has subjugated them for CENTURIES. Just as true Christians follow the teachings of Christ – “love one another as I have loved you” – so too, do true Muslims follow the teachings of Muhammed. Here are a few examples:

On Education (since you refer to the burnings of schools for girls): “Seeking knowledge is a religious obligation for every Muslim (male or female).” (Sunan Ibn Mâjah, Sunan Al-Bayhaqî)

On Being Judgmental: “Do not search for (the faults of others), for if anyone searches for (others) faults, God will search for his.” (Sunan Abî Dawûd)

On Equality: “There is no superiority for an Arab over a non-Arab, nor for a non-Arab over an Arab, nor for a fair-skinned person over a person with dark skin, nor for a dark-skinned person over a person with fair skin. Whoever is more pious and God-fearing is more deserving of honour.” (Musnad Ahmad)

And Mr. Hall, you really should do your research before you open your mouth. You go on about Saudi Arabia and its intolerance of the establishment of houses of worship of other faiths within its boundaries. Saudi Arabia is an Islamic theocratic monarchy. Unlike the United States, in which freedom of religion is written into our Constitution, Saudi Arabia (and Iran, Sudan, Yemen, Afghanistan, United Arab Emirates, Pakistan, Malaysia, and Mauritania) follow religious law as secular law, albeit sometimes distorted from the original teachings of Muhammed, just as many a Christian rule is distorted from the earliest lessons of Christ.

Furthermore, in case you’ve been living under a rock, the extreme weather changes that have occurred within the last decade – all over the world – are a result of global warming that environmental scientists have been predicting. However, if you prefer being a selfish old fool, and don’t want to leave a better world for your grandchildren and great grandchildren, by all means, don’t “lower your living standard” in order to reduce your carbon footprint.

Moreover, you should consider yourself damn lucky that addiction has never reared its ugly head in your condescending little world. Maybe no germ rushed out of a dark alley and forced the drugs into these people, but you have no idea what it’s like to be at war with your own body, and know of no other way out than the oblivion that a chemical fix can bring.

Additionally, how dare you judge people with piercings and tattoos, unjustly accusing them of deliberately decorating their bodies in order to make themselves unemployable? These are our bodies, and we can do with them as we please. It is prejudice like yours that perpetuates the myth that people with tattoos and piercings are delinquents and a burden on society. I hate to disrupt your illusions, but many of today’s most successful professionals (doctors, lawyers, teachers, to name a few) have body modifications and are NOT living off the government.

I do give you credit for having a strong work ethic and, apparently, even stronger self-control. That’s all too rare among people of all generations. And I agree with you about people with a sense of entitlement. To quote Ani DiFranco, “I have earned my disillusionment. I have been working all of my life. And I am a patriot. I have been fighting the good fight.”

However, you end your rant with “But I’m also glad to be 74. Because, mostly, I’m not going to have to see the world these people are making. I’m just sorry for my granddaughter and their children. Thank God I’m on the way out and not on the way in.” To be blunt, we don’t need people like you in this world. We need positive people, not negative. We need people who can see the joy in life and not the despair. We need those who have faith that we CAN make it better, instead of bitching that it’s all going down the drain.

So, respectfully, Mr. Hall: Sayonara. This planet doesn’t need you – or your prejudice, hatred and anger.


5 responses to “A Response to Robert A. Hall’s “I’m 74 and I’m tired”

  1. Today I had a heated discussion with some reguarding religon. the topic got me thinking about a “FAKE” post claiming to be from Bill Cosby, first it was Im 76 and im tired and recently it has been recycled as Im 86 and im tired. After reading this piece several times it inspired me to write my own. Below is my rant, Im not asking anyone to repost or spread it around the web, but if you do please leave it the way it is written, even if I have spelling or grammar errors.

    Hi, my name is Craig, and I am a 41 years old Christian male, and I am tired. I’m tired of all the closed minded people spreading untrue stories of people they don’t even know. I’m tired of people believing everything negative thing they hear and refusing to believe anything good. I’m tired of people grouping the actions of a few to the actions of the masses. I’m tired of Christians downgrading other religions as nothing less than evil and refusing to look at their own history. I’m sick and tired of people telling me that every time they hear anything in regarding Muslims its always someone getting killed or linked to a bombings, my response to that is simple, if 2 people walk into a store and the first guy finds 10 dollars and returns it to the clerk, to we see it on the news, of course not, but if the second guy walked in that same store and held a knife to clerk and demanded 10 dollars would we hear about it? Of course!

    The simple fact is that Christians are just as bad. Road side bombings you say, we would never do that. Fact is Catholics and Protestants were bombing each other for years in Ireland, long before Muslim’s were.

    I’m tired of hearing that Muslims kill non Muslims for not believing in their faith and we, Christians, will never do that. The fact is during the Crusades, a series of religious expeditionary wars blessed by Pope Urban II and the Catholic Church were aimed primarily against Muslims in the Levant. The word crusaded itself is a French term for taking up the cross.

    Yes I’m tired. Tired of my fellow Christians condemning an entire religion based on the act of a few. I’m tired of how we forget our own history and the violence within our church, from the wars we have started to the child abuse covered up by our own church to protect the ones doing the abuse.

    I’m 41 years old and tired of people judging a group for the actions of a few instead of judging each one on their own demerits. It’s time, we as a whole start look further than our TV News cast to form an opinion of group and look outside, do some reading, learn about things rather than rely on others telling us how we should feel towards anyone.

    I’m a Christian and I am happy not to be looked at as a child abuser because a few within chose to abuse a child.

    My name is Craig Anderson, I am a 41 year old Christian, and I think it’s time for a change.

  2. ROBERT FLYNN says:

    IS ANY OF THIS NEWS?
    HOW DO WE STOP THIS FROM HAPPENING?
    WE ALL HAVE FREE WILL, HOW WE EXERCISE IT IS UP TO THE INDIVIDUAL.
    COMPLAIN ABOUT GOVERNMENT? CHECK THE PERCENTAGE OF ELIGIBLE VOTERS THAT DON’T VOTE.
    A MARIST POLL SHOWED THAT PEOPLE WERE VOTING TO SEND BACK TO OFFICE CANDIDATES THAT HAD ” DONE SOMETHING WRONG”. WHY, BECAUSE THEY BROUGHT HOME THE BACON.
    I HOPE THE PERSON IS LIVING AMONGST US WHO HAS THE ANSWERS TO SO MANY QUESTIONS.

Leave a Reply

