Momma Mayhem

Social Filters Be Gone!!

Adventures in Sleep Training – Part One

on 09/13/2013

September 13, 2013

So, this weekend, while my husband is off gallivanting in Las Vegas, I will be home, attempting to start sleep training our three year old. (Sleep training is a nice way of saying I’m going to put him in his room at a certain time,  and let him cry it out for however long it takes him to get the idea that it’s bedtime)

He WAS on a strict schedule of a 9:30 pm bedtime, until about six months ago. One night, he just flipped out at the idea of going into his bedroom. Figuring it was just a one-time thing, we allowed him to cuddle with his dad on the couch until he fell asleep.

One-time thing, my ass. Every night, for the last six months, this child has been falling asleep on the couch with his father, always after 11 pm, no less. What other three year old is allowed to go to bed that late? Very often, if it’s after MIDNIGHT, and Goddess help us if he naps during the day, because then he doesn’t fall asleep until after 2 am!! This nonsense has seriously affected my marriage, my mental and physical health, and my own sleep habits, as well as my husband’s. We rarely get a full, unbroken night’s sleep, because we’re waking up in the middle of the night to take our son off the couch and put him in his own bed.

My previous attempts to sleep train him have been foiled by my ever-permissive husband, who cannot stand to see or hear our son cry. The few times I attempted to let him cry it out in the last six months resulted in my husband going to get him within 10 minutes, thus making himself the favored parent, and me the evil, sadistic disciplinarian. He loves to tell me that I enjoy ‘torturing’ our son, and that I love to hear him cry.  (That does wonders for my self-esteem, let me tell you, especially since our son is a total Daddy’s boy.) With Hubby in Vegas until late Monday night, I may actually be able to get him on a set schedule – if Daddy doesn’t blow it when he gets home.

My diabolical plan is as follows – for the next few nights (tonight, Saturday, Sunday & Monday), we will be following a fairly set time schedule:

  • Dinner will be between 6:30 & 7:00 (this will make it easier on weeknights, as that’s what time we usually eat).
  • Bath will be around 8.
  • Any last minute snacking will be before 8:45.
  • Diaper change right before bed.
  • Bed time will be 9:00.
  • Regardless of what time he actually falls asleep, I will be waking him by 9:00 each morning.

I’m hoping four days/nights is enough to fix six months’ worth of sleeping problems. I’m hoping that my husband and I will finally get some ‘us’ time back, that my fifteen year old son won’t feel obligated to stay up on the weekends in order for my husband and I to get some rest, and that we can all go back to as ‘normal’ as its possible for us to be.

Wish me luck!!


Leave a Reply

